Reinstating An Illinois Driver’s License

Posted by Erin Birt | May 15, 2015 | 0 Comments

While the law firm often focuses on divorce and family matters, it also provides services relating to reinstating driving privileges. In Illinois, a DUI offense–driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs–can result in a restricted driving permit or revocation of your driver's license. In some situations, you may need the assistance of an attorney and/or a state-approved evaluation agency to restore driving privileges after DUI. Here is a brief outline for reinstating an Illinois driver's license.

DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY FOR REINSTATEMENT – Normally, your license will not be returned to you until the eligibility date set by the court. However, your license could be reinstated if you provide proof of ‘undue hardship' for reasons of employment; medical; child, elder or disabled persons daycare; educational; support group; or court-ordered community service reasons, per the Illinois Secretary of State.

ATTEND INITIAL CONSULTATION – This occurs regardless of your reinstatement eligibility.

COMPLETE DRUG/ALCOHOL REQUIREMENTS – If your license was revoked for DUI, you will be required to undergo DUI Risk Education and Treatment within six months prior to your hearing date by a Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse (DASA)-licensed provider. The DUI evaluations determine what level of treatment, if any, each person must receive.

ATTEND A HEARING – This hearing determines either that your license will be fully reinstated or that you will have a restricted driving permit and perhaps a breath alcohol ignition device in your vehicle. If your offense was a first-time DUI or did not involve a fatality, it is an informal hearing. Fatalities or multiple DUI arrests warrant Secretary of State Formal Hearings, and you may request representation by a Driver's License Reinstatement Attorney.

When a license reinstatement is denied after an informal hearing, you can apply for a formal hearing or attend another informal hearing in 30 days. If the denial is after a formal hearing, you must wait 90 days for a new hearing.

Anyone granted a Restricted Driving Permit will be informed of the conditions that must be met.

If your Illinois driver's license has been revoked for a DUI offense, my office was a state-licensed counseling and treatment provider for drug and alcohol abuse, and we can represent you at a formal hearing if required. Contact me to learn more about how we can help with all aspects of license reinstatement and evaluations and the best route for reinstating an Illinois driver's license.

About the Author

Erin Birt

Since 2003, Erin N. Birt, J.D., CADC has focused her practice on parenting time, divorce, mediation, and substance abuse issues. Ms. Birt's unique background in both family law and addictions counseling help her clients successfully navigate the complex issues of coparenting and divorce. Ms. Birt also devotes her time to presenting at continuing education seminars for attorneys, mediators, and counselors.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Our Services

We help clients successfully and peacefully start a new chapter in their lives.

We offer in-person and remote meetings with clients.  Now more than ever is the best time to have a divorce attorney to navigate court restrictions and reopenings. 

  Learn more about our plan to keep our clients safe and informed during the current COVID-19 pandemic.

Contact Us Today

Birt Law is committed to answering your questions about Family law issues. We'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.

Menu